Attleboro High School announced that two outstanding seniors have been named National Merit Commended Scholars in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. Neil Chace and Ella Lynch-Bartek are members of the AHS Class of 2022. 

These young people are among approximately 1.5 million U.S. high school students who participated in the October 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).  Only 34,000 students earn scores high enough to receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.  

"This recognition is a testament to the powerful teaching and learning that takes place at AHS and across the district," said Bill Runey, Principal. "This is a tremendous achievement that reflects positively on our Blue Pride Community, and we are proud to extend our congratulations to Ella and Neil; their teachers; and their families. It should be noted that these two students were in a cohort who were offered the PSAT by AHS in the eighth grade as a way to fuel their desire to score well in subsequent years. Commended Scholars and Semifinalists are those in the top 3% of all students in the nation taking the exam."

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation is a non-profit organization that conducts annual competitions for recognition and college undergraduate scholarships.  Since its founding, nearly 3 million students have been recognized, and over 350,000 scholarships have been awarded.

Pictured (L to R) – Runey, Jillian Boyle (Guidance), Chace, Lynch-Bartek, Lindsey McDonald (Guidance), and Julie Little (Guidance Coordinator)