Social Studies Department

Department Coordinator: Brian Hodges

Philosophy and Goals

The primary objective of the Social Studies Department is to create discerning and engaged members of a global society. The social studies program must provide students with the knowledge and skills necessary to process information, and the capacity to understand and appreciate people from backgrounds and cultures different from their own. Further, the program is intended to develop an informed, discriminating citizenship essential to effective participation in the democratic processes of governance and the fulfillment of the nation's democratic ideals.

While history forms the foundation for social studies, it is understood that concepts from other social sciences, including geography, political science, economics, psychology, law, and many others must be integrated through the department's courses to provide students with a firm understanding of their principles and methodologies. To assist students in understanding the interrelationships among branches of knowledge, the interdisciplinary inclusion of other subject matter with social studies is also encouraged in such areas as Humanities, and American Studies.

Department Directory

Name

House #

Email Address

Brian Hodges, Coordinator

2

bhodges@attleboroschools.com

Joseph Amaral

3

jamaral@attleboroschools.com

Holly Bisset

3

hbisset@attleboroschools.com

Carla Hodges

3

chodges@attleboroschools.com

Harley Holmes

3

bholmes@attleboroschools.com

Ben Kelley

3

bkelley@attleboroschools.com

Alexis Kobey

3

akobey@attleboroschools.com

Zachary Ledoux

2

zledoux@attleboroschools.com

Louise Michelle

1

lmichelle@attleboroschools.com

Conor Murphy

2

cmurphy@attleboroschools.com

Katie Rego

3

krego@attleboroschools.com

Kendall Reingold

3/ACA

kreingold@attleborschools.com

Rachel Santos

2

rsantos@attleboroschools.com

Erin Sullivan

1

esullivan@attleboroschools.com

Ari Weinstein

4

aweinstein@attleboroschools.com

Robert Westwater

3

rwestwater@attleboroschools.com

 
updated 9/23/2021

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.