Social Studies Department

Department Coordinator: Brian Hodges

Philosophy and Goals

The primary objective of the Social Studies Department is to create discerning and engaged members of a global society. The social studies program must provide students with the knowledge and skills necessary to process information, and the capacity to understand and appreciate people from backgrounds and cultures different from their own. Further, the program is intended to develop an informed, discriminating citizenship essential to effective participation in the democratic processes of governance and the fulfillment of the nation's democratic ideals.

While history forms the foundation for social studies, it is understood that concepts from other social sciences, including geography, political science, economics, psychology, law, and many others must be integrated through the department's courses to provide students with a firm understanding of their principles and methodologies. To assist students in understanding the interrelationships among branches of knowledge, the interdisciplinary inclusion of other subject matter with social studies is also encouraged in such areas as Humanities, and American Studies.

Department Directory

 Name House # Email Address
 Brian Hodges, Coordinator  2  bhodges@attleboroschools.com
 Joseph Amaral  3  jamaral@attleboroschools.com
 Holly Bisset  3  hbisset@attleboroschools.com
 Carla Hodges  3  chodges@attleboroschools.com
 Harley Holmes  3  bholmes@attleboroschools.com
 Ben Kelley  3  bkelley@attleboroschools.com
 Alexis Kobey  3  akobey@attleboroschools.com 
 Nicole Lane  1  nlane@attleboroschools.com
 Louise Michelle  1  lmichelle@attleboroschools.com
 Katie Rego  3  krego@attleboroschools.com
 Rachel Santos  2  rsantos@attleboroschools.com
 Erin Sullivan  1  esullivan@attleboroschools.com
 Ari Weinstein  4  aweinstein@attleboroschools.com
 Robert Westwater  3  rwestwater@attleboroschools.com

updated 9/26/2018
‚Äč
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.