English Department

Department Head: Kelly Reed

The Attleboro High School English department is composed of intelligent and hardworking teachers.  Whether it be brainstorming ideas for an open response or polishing the final draft of a college essay, we make students’ needs our top priority.  Our “students first” attitude abounds in the classroom and extends beyond it.  For each required course, English teachers have developed an extensive skills-based curriculum that aligns with Massachusetts state frameworks.  We are well versed in all components of the ELA MCAS assessment and are continually analyzing testing data to refine our instructional practices.

Our instructional practices are designed to improve students’ writing and analytical skills.  Our goal is to make students independent problem solvers and reflective learners who can effectively communicate through speaking and writing.  Over students' tenures at AHS, they will be exposed to a variety of authors, poets, and playwrights.  Each text is circumspectly selected by the instructor with the purpose of teaching the skills outlined in the curriculum. 

All students must take and pass English I (grade 9), English II (grade 10), English III (grade 11), and English IV (grade 12) to graduate.  There is a summer reading requirement for each one of these core courses.  In addition to the required courses, the English department also offers a variety of electives for students who are interested in exploring specific types of writing and literature.

Department Directory

English

 Name  House #
Email Address
 Kelly Reed, Coordinator
 2  kreed@attleboroschools.com
 Adeline Bee  3  abee@attleboroschools.com
 Vaughan Boone  3  jboone@attleboroschools.com
 James Clarke  1  jclarke@attleboroschools.com
 Anna Cordeiro  3  acordeiro@attleboroschools.com
 Joseph Gorman  3  jgorman@attleboroschools.com
 Christine Lyons  2/ACA  clyons@attleboroschools.com
 Erin Mathews  3  emathews@attleboroschools.com
 Patrick Parker  3  pparker@attleboroschools.com
 Sheila Rosa  1  srosa@attleboroschools.com
 Meredith Silva  2  msilva@attleboroschools.com
 Jennifer Thibodeau  3  jthibodeau@attleboroschools.com
 Kristen Thomsen  3  kthomsen@attleboroschools.com
 Daniel Walton  3  dwalton@attleboroschools.com

updated 9/12/2018





‚Äč






Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.